Faculty of Political Science

The Faculty of Political Science was re-established in 2017. However, political studies have been explored in the Moscow School nearly from the day it was founded. In 1996, the first Faculty of Political Science was founded. It functioned for ten years. B.G. Kapustin, T.E. Vorozheikina, and V.S. Malakhov consecutively succeeded one another to the position of the Faculty’s Dean. This period gave rise to the key Faculty tradition, which is still being kept: being focused on academic political theory and its relevant methods rather than on “applied political science”. In 2006, the Faculty was closed, but already in 2010, when V.P. Zharkov joined the Shaninka team the Faculty experienced its revival.

In 2012, the Faculty of Social Sciences launched the UK Master Degree program “Political Science and International Relation”. Two years later, a new program “International Politics in Cultural Context” was introduced; it was one of the two UK Bachelor Degree programs initiated by Shanin. In 2014, the first students were enrolled to Master Degree Program in political philosophy introduced by T.V. Vaiser and G.B. Yudin. Thus, a whole bunch of programs related to political science was generated within the framework of the larger faculty.

In 2012, Vasily Zharkov opens the Political Science and International Relations program. The goal of the program is to help students understand contemporary international relations from the point of view of current political theory. The core discipline is the Theory of International Relations.

In 2017 they made a logical and justified decision to combine all three programs into a separate faculty. The Faculty of Political Science was restored under new conditions, and V.P. Zharkov was appointed Dean of the Faculty.

Faculty Team

The Faculty unites people of different generations, who share their own unique experience and mindsets. Professors B.Yu. Kagarlitsky and V.S. Malakhov, representing the academic staff of the old Faculty, proceed with their work. Yet, the new team is represented by the new generation of the Shaninka alumni, including A.M. Vafin, S.A. Kozheurov, M.E. Simon, and G.B. Yudin. Other Faculty staff members are N.A. Abdullaev, Harvard graduate, and Andrey Oleinikov, acknowledged expert in the philosophy of history, who and has been heading the Faculty Department of Political and Legal Studies since 2018. D.O. Aronson, T.M. Atnashev, I.B. Budraitskis, K.B. Bulish, M.B. Velizhev, M.S. Gamaley, V.K. Gerasimov, A.V. Gumensky, S.V. Demidenko, T.A. Dmitriev, A.V. Zaritsky, Yu.L. Kiseleva, G.S. Klimova, A.D. Kumankov, D.E. Letnyakov, A.V. Marey, M.Yu. Nemtsev, E.E. Savitsky, A.S. Titkov, S.V. Utkin, D.O. Khlevnyuk and others cooperate with the Faculty programs.

Academic Researches

Academic researches conducted at the Faculty cover several key areas directly related to political theory. Firstly, they cover a package of researches concerning cultural diversity, mass migration, and intercultural communication in the present-day world which are carried out jointly with V.S. Malakhov’s Center for Theoretical and Applied Political Science at the RANEPA Institute of Social Sciences. Secondly, G.B. Yudin initiated and took the lead of the research activities related to global problems of our time, i.e. inequality, democracy, and security. The third important area covered by the researches are contemporary theories of international relations.

Partners

The list of  valuable international partners, along with the University of Manchester, which still validates all the essential programs of the Faculty, includes the University of Coventry (Great Britain), the University of Amsterdam (The Netherlands) and the Institute of Slavic Studies at Dresden University of Technical (Germany). The main areas of international cooperation are organization of summer schools, student exchanges and visits of lecturers, joint research projects, and new double degree programs.

Future Plans

The long-term plans of the Faculty include the development of existing and introduction of new Bachelor and Master Degree programs. Another important area is related to the development of a system of short-term professional retraining courses, including distance learning. A program for leaders of local communities implemented jointly with the Faculty of Social and Cultural Project Management is expected to be the pilot project. Finally, long-term development plans anticipate the introduction of our own program for Ph.D. students.

Our goal is to create a present-day faculty focused on the best achievements of academic science and university teaching practice. We are the youngest and fastest-growing faculty in Russia, which offers the best world-class educational products related to political science. Our mission is to promote the distribution of high-quality present-day academic knowledge associated with politics in Russia and the rest of the world.

Contacts

8 (495) 150-80-92
shabanova@universitas.ru

Факультет политических наук

Факультет политических наук был воссоздан в 2017 году. Однако политическая наука развивалась в Московской Школе практически с самого её основания. Первый факультет был создан в 1996 году и существовал в течение десяти лет, когда его деканами по очереди становились Б.Г. Капустин, Т.Е. Ворожейкина и В.С. Малахов.  Именно тогда сложилась главная факультетская традиция, сохраняющаяся до сих пор: акцент не на «прикладной политологии», а на фундаментальной политической теории и релевантных ей методах. В 2006 году факультет был закрыт, но уже в 2010-м началась работа по его возрождению с приходом в Шанинку В.П. Жаркова.

В 2012 году на факультете социальных наук была открыта программа британской магистратуры “Political Science and International Relations”. Два года спустя добавилась программа “International Politics in Cultural Context”, одна из двух, с которых стартовал шанинский британский бакалавриат. В том же 2014 году сделала первый набор созданная Т.В. Вайзер и Г.Б. Юдиным магистерская программа по политической философии. Таким образом в рамках большого факультета сформировался целый куст программ в области политических наук. 

Логичным и оправданным шагом стало принятое в 2017 году решение об объединении всех трёх программ в отдельный факультет. Факультет политических наук был восстановлен в новых условиях, а его деканом был избран В.П. Жарков. 

Образовательные программы факультета политических наук

Команда факультета

Факультет представляет собой команду, объединяющую людей разных поколений, с собственным особым опытом и взглядом на жизнь. Из числа сотрудников старого факультета продолжают работать профессора Б.Ю. Кагарлицкий и В.С. Малахов. Однако костяк новой команды составляет следующее поколение, представленное выпускниками Шанинки, в числе которых А.М. Вафин, С.А. Кожеуров, М.Е. Симон и Г.Б. Юдин. Среди штатных сотрудников факультета выпускник Гарварда Н.А. Абдуллаев и известный специалист по философии истории А.А. Олейников, который с 2018 года возглавляет факультетскую кафедру политических и правовых учений. С программами факультета также сотрудничают Д.О. Аронсон, Т.М. Атнашев, И.Б. Будрайтскис, К.Б. Булиш, М.Б. Велижев, М.С. Гамалей, В.К. Герасимов, А.В. Гуменский, С.В. Демиденко, Т.А. Дмитриев, А.В. Зарицкий, Ю.Л. Киселева, Г.С. Климова, А.Д. Куманьков, Д.Э. Летняков, А.В. Марей, М.Ю. Немцев, Е.Е. Савицкий, А.С. Титков, С.В. Уткин, Д.О. Хлевнюк и др.
старший преподаватель кафедры политических и правовых учений
доцент, кандидат политических наук
декан факультета политических наук, кандидат исторических наук
старший преподаватель кафедры политических и правовых учений, научный руководитель программы бакалавриата "Мировая политика", MA in Oriental and African Studies, MA in Political Science and International Relations
профессор кафедры политических и правовых учений, доктор политических наук, кандидат философских наук
заведующий кафедрой политических и правовых учений, научный руководитель программы "Политическая философия", кандидат философских наук, доцент
доцент кафедры политических и правовых учений, научный руководитель программ магистратуры и профессиональной переподготовки "Международная политика", кандидат политических наук, MA in Political Science and International Relations
доцент кафедры социологии, кандидат географических наук
научный руководитель программы «Политическая философия», профессор, кандидат философских наук

Научно-исследовательская работа

Научно-исследовательская работа факультета представлена несколькими ключевыми направлениями, непосредственно связанными с политической теорией. Во-первых, это целый комплекс исследований, реализуемый совместно с Центром теоретической и прикладной политологии В.С. Малахова в ИОН РАНХиГС в области изучения культурного разнообразия, массовой миграции и межкультурной коммуникации в современном мире. Во-вторых, под руководством Г.Б. Юдина реализуется направление, связанное с исследованием таких глобальных проблем современности, как неравенство, демократия и безопасность. Третьим важным направлением остается изучение современных теорий международных отношений.

Партнеры

В числе значимых иностранных партнеров наряду Университетом Манчестера, в котором по-прежнему валидированы все основные программы факультета, можно назвать Университет Ковентри (Великобритания), Амстердамский Университет (Нидерланды) и Институт славистики Технического Университета Дрездена (Германия). Основные направления международного сотрудничества: организация летних школ, студенческих обменов и визитов преподавателей, совместные исследовательские проекты и новые программы двойных дипломов. 

Перспективные планы

В перспективные планы развития факультета входит развитие существующих и открытие новых программ на уровне магистратуры и бакалавриата. Ещё одно важное направление связано с развитием системы краткосрочных курсов профессиональной переподготовки, включая дистанционные формы обучения. Пилотным проектом здесь станет программа для лидеров местных сообществ, реализуемая совместно с факультетом управления социокультурными проектами. Наконец, в планах долгосрочного развития – открытие собственной программы для PhD-студентов.

Наша цель – создание современного факультета, ориентированного на лучшие достижения в области академической науки и практики университетского преподавания. Мы самый молодой и динамично развивающийся факультет в России, предлагающий лучшие образовательные продукты мирового уровня в области политической науки. Наша миссия – служить распространению современного и качественного научного знания в области политики в России и остальном мире.

Контакты

Приемная комиссия:
8 (495) 150-80-94
applic@universitas.ru


            
Администратор:
Шабанова Рената
8 (495) 150-80-92
shabanova@universitas.ru
Учиться в Шанинке